Gun laws in Florida regulate the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition. Florida is a “shall issue” state, and issues concealed carry licenses to both residents and non-residents. In addition, Florida recognizes licenses from any other state which recognizes Florida’s license, provided the non-resident individual is a resident of the other state and is at least 21 years old.
At What Age Can You Legally Buy a Gun in Florida?
In Florida, you must be at least 18 years old to purchase a rifle or shotgun and at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun.
Can You Buy a Gun Without a License or Permit in Florida?
You do not need a specialized permit or license and fingerprinting is not necessary to purchase a firearm in Florida. There is no waiting period to buy a rifle or shotgun, but there is a 3 day waiting period for handguns.
However, a concealed weapon permit is required if you want to carry a hidden weapon, such as a handgun.
Requirements to Buy a Gun in Florida
The requirements vary by state, but in most states you must be at least 18 or 21 years old and complete a course on safety to get a permit. If you are a felon, found mentally unstable, or have been found guilty of certain crimes, then you cannot obtain a permit.
Places Off-Limits When Carrying a Gun in Florida
After obtaining your concealed weapons permit, keep in mind that there are several places that are off-limits when carrying.
Some of these places include:
– Police, sheriff, or highway patrol stations
– Courthouses or courtrooms
– Prison or jails
– Polling places
– College or university facilities
– Area technical centers
– Inside the passenger terminal and/or sterile area of any airport.
There are additional areas that are off-limits. Make sure that you are informed before obtaining your permit.
Open Exceptions to Florida Gun Laws
Those wishing to carry handguns must apply for a license or permit to do so. The license is valid for a total of five years and includes the name, address, date of birth, race, and occupation of the permit carrier.
Under Florida gun laws, it is considered illegal for an individual to carry any firearm—concealed or in the open—with only the following exceptions:
– Individuals involved with firearms for the purpose of sport and target shooting, and while traveling to and from such locations
– Individuals involved in hunting or trapping, and while traveling to and from such activities
– Law enforcement and military personnel
– Individuals involved in the firearm business, such as dealing and repairing
Remember, if you ever feel that you or your life are threatened, you have the right to use deadly force in the state of Florida.
Call Laporte, Mulligan & Werner-Watkins for Expert Legal Advice
If you live in the Pasco County, Fla. or surrounding areas and are in need of legal defense for any of the above mentioned, or other criminal offenses, our team of expert attorneys is here to help. Laporte, Mulligan & Werner-Watkins, P.A. has proudly served Florida residents with a variety of quality legal services. We are committed to creating a defense plan that will win you the justice you deserve. Call us today at (727) 478-4125, or contact us online to get started.