Blog

florida-automobile-insurance-what-to-know

What You Should Know About Florida Automobile Insurance

Shopping for car insurance can be confusing and complicated, but doing your homework can make it less of a mystery. No matter what kind of car you drive, it’s important to carry sufficient liability protection. If you’re not sure, come into our office at 11914 Oak Trail Way, Port Richey, FL 34668 and we will look over your policy and advise you. There’s absolutely no obligation or charge of any kind. We just want you to have the proper coverage so you don’t find yourself at risk if you get into an accident.

It’s worthwhile to shop around for the best auto insurance rates, and there are many online resources that offer free quotes. Make sure that the company you choose to do business with a licensed Florida insurer that is approved by the Florida DMV.

Florida Car Insurance if Mandatory for Vehicles with Four or More Wheels

The State of Florida requires every vehicle with 4 or more wheels to carry Florida Insurance coverage. You must have proof of this coverage when you register your vehicle. The minimum requirement is $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL).
The Florida DMV may request additional coverage such as Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) if you’ve been in an accident or convicted of certain offenses, such as DUI.

In addition to PIP, PDL and BIL, Florida auto insurers offer optional coverages such as Collision, Comprehensive and Uninsured Motorist. Their rates are based on several factors including your driving record, your age, where you live and the car you drive. Not all providers figure their rates the same way, so expect different rates for the same coverage from different insurers.

BIL insurance is required for certain drivers. It helps pay for serious or permanent injury or death to others resulting from an accident involving your automobile. Previous accidents or violations may require a driver to carry this type of coverage.

What Happens if You’re Caught Driving Without a License

If you are caught driving without insurance, you could lose your driving privileges, so don’t leave your driveway without getting the coverage you need. It’s important both for you and other drivers on the roads. Not having proper coverage exposes you to serious risk and liability, and you’ll be breaking the law.

We all know that there are many uninsured motorists driving on the Florida roads every day. If one of those drivers should cause an accident in which you are involved and injured, would you be protected? If you’re not sure, this would be a good time for a review of your auto insurance policy. The purchase of uninsured motorist coverage will protect you from personal liability if an uninsured driver causes an accident in which you are involved. It’s always advisable to be safe, rather than sorry.

Different Types of Vehicle Coverage

It may be advisable to drop the collision and comprehensive portions of an auto policy if you drive an old vehicle. These coverages can be quite expensive and may not be needed depending on the age and condition of your car.

If you are upside-down on a loan on your car, be sure to add “gap” insurance to protect you. If you drive a high-end auto, umbrella coverage might be an option to consider. This coverage kicks in after the limits on your homeowners and auto insurance have been reached, and it can provide millions in extra protection. Because there is a high propensity for lawsuits in some areas, consult a trusted insurance agent or Craig Laporte, an experienced Personal Injury Attorney who has served as a trusted advisor to thousands of clients.

If you’re in an accident and you are at fault, the liability part of your insurance will not pay for repairs. Collision coverage, if you have it, is the insurance that will cover repairs. If your insurance company declares your vehicle a total loss due to an accident, the maximum amount the policy will pay is the fair market value of your vehicle.

Your liability insurance doesn’t pay for your medical expenses. You are required by Florida law to carry PIP, which pays 80% of your medical expenses and 60% of any lost income. If the other driver is at fault and has BIL coverage, his insurance will pay those bills not covered by your PIP.

For More Information, Contact the Personal Injury Attorneys at Proly, LaPorte & Mulligan for Consultation

At Prolly, Laporte & Mulligan PA, we have experienced car accident attorneys who can best design a strategy to help you receive the compensation you’re entitled to.

Contact us here or call 727-478-4125  and let’s discuss your case.

Disclaimer: This blog is intended to be for informational purposes only and does not establish an attorney/client relationship.

Comments

comments

Request a Free Consultation

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone (required)

Description of your case:

Please leave this field empty.

Please leave this field empty.