Although it should go without saying, many individuals forget that driving is not a right, but a privilege that is earned. While almost everyone will get a ticket for a driving infraction in their lifetime (41 million speeding tickets are written annually!), too many driving infractions can lead to serious consequences. No one wants to lose their license—or worse—end up in jail, because of driving infractions. Fortunately, you can avoid any driver’s license trouble by staying informed. Here’s what you need to know.
Florida’s Point System
The point system below is in effect to ensure the roads are safe for all drivers.
– Leaving the scene of an accident which resulted in property damage of more than $50
– Speeding that results in an accident
– Reckless driving
– Moving violations that result in an accident
– Passing a stopped school bus
– Speeding 16 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
– Driving during restricted hours
– Speeding 15 miles per hour or less over the posted speed limit
– Moving violations
– Violation of curfew
– Violation of child restraint
– Possessing an open container
License Suspension In Florida
Having your license suspended isn’t just inconvenient—it’s expensive and can lead to other legal troubles. Unfortunately, many drivers receive a significant number of points on their driving record and have their license suspended.
When are driver’s licenses suspended?
If you receive 12 points on your license within a 12-month period, your license will be suspended for 30-days. If you receive 18 points on your license with an 18-month period, your license will be suspended for 90-days. If you receive 24 points on your license with a 36-month period, your license will be suspended for one year.
Are the rules different for minors?
Yes. Extra precautions are set in place for any drivers under 18 years old. Any minor who receives 12 points on their license within a 12-month period will automatically be restricted to driving for business purposes only.
In addition, there is also a zero-tolerance policy for minors when it comes to driving while under the influence of alcohol. Any driver not of a legal drinking age, stopped by law enforcement and found to have a BAC of .02 or higher, will have their license automatically suspended for six months. Refusal to take a breathalyzer test will result in an automatic suspension of one year.
How Do I Reinstate My License?
In many situations, you will be able to reinstate your license if your privileges were suspended or revoked. Typically, drivers will need to apply for a hardship license or reinstatement. Because each situation varies on a case-by-case basis, you can contact the local Bureau of Administration Reviews Offices for information on your eligibility.
For more helpful resources, read our other blogs:
Am I Eligible for a Hardship Driver’s License?
Will My License Be Suspended If I Don’t Pay My TOLL-BY-PLATE Ticket?
Traffic Violation Attorneys In Pasco County
Suspended licenses are not minor or petty problems. They can often become serious and long-term issues if not dealt with properly. Call or contact us for a free consultation by phone or call into our office in Port Richey, Florida.